Familiar vs Unfamiliar

Posted: August 7, 2014 in Week 2

Familiar        

The genre that is closest to my understanding and familiarity would be Hip Hop and R&B. Since the early 90’s i have been a very strong rap fanatic. What keeps me centered on the Rap/Hip Hop culture is the delivery of the product when its all said and done. I’ve seen the major transformation in the culture over years, but it still holds true to it origins for some artists. I was recently musically introduced to “Hopsin”, a california based artist who delivers a very strong and powerful message in all of his music. Not all rap is acceptable to my ears, but when I can listen to and feel the music touch my heart and/or make me want to move, i get excited.

Hopsin – Ill Mind of Hopsin 6

Unfamiliar

Due to the nature of this musical piece, i find it difficult to relate to. Specifically because i am not of that culture and I dont understand what is being said. It is very hard for me to differentiate the feeling i am suppose to have when listening to this type of music simply because it all sounds the same to me. These are purely just my views and opinions. Not saying that i DO NOT like the music, however it does nothing for me in the musical aspect of things.

Leave a comment